The Chairperson of the PSC

Eddie Shimwetheleni Amkongo is the current Chairperson of the Public Service Commission (PSC) of Namibia, a freedom fighter during the liberation struggle of his Motherland.

He was appointed by His Excellency Hifikepunye Pohamba, President of the Republic of Namibia for the first five years (2006 – 2011) and reappointed for another five years (2011 – 2016).

Upon his return from exile to the last colony –Namibia– he was appointed as the Permanent Secretary / Secretary to Cabinet in the Office of the President of the Republic of Namibia (now the Father of the Nation Dr Sam Nujoma, 1989 – 1994).

Ambassador Amkongo also served as the Secretary to Cabinet and the Head of the Public Service of Namibia (1994 – 1996).

In terms of Article 112 (3) of the Namibian Constitution, the "Public Service Commission shall consist of a Chairperson and no fewer than three and no more than six other members nominated by the President and appointed by the National Assembly by resolution".

The Public Service Commission Act of 1990 (Act 2 of 1990) stipulates that every member appointed shall be entitled to hold office for a period of five years and upon expiry of the term of office he/she would be eligible for re-appointment.

In this regard, the National Assembly in October 2010 re-appointed Ambassador Amkongo as Chairperson of the PSC for the second term of five years.

Amkongo served in various capacities as SWAPO Representative and as Ambassador in different capitals of the world. He was posted to a range of diplomatic missions with his last posting as Ambassador of Namibia to the DRC, Republic of Congo (Brazzaville) and Gabon (2000 – 2006) before he was appointed to chair  the Public Service Commission of Namibia.

He is a teacher and journalist and has obtained his Bachelors Degree in Administration at Turfloop University in South Africa, 1972.


  • 1976 – 2000: Diplomatic Missions
    • Political /Diplomatic Adviser to a SADC Allies Special Envoy to the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
    • Ambassador of the Republic of Namibia to the Democratic Republic of Congo; the Republic of Congo (Brazzaville) and the Republic of Gabon with residence at Kinshasa.
    • Chaired the OAU (now AU) Committee on Contributions (Accreditation Committee)
    • Ambassador of the Republic of Namibia to Ethiopia and Permanent Representative to the Organisation of Africa Unity (OAU) now African Union (AU) and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA).
  • 1994: Founding member of Commonwealth Association for Public Administration and Management (CAPAM) since its inaugural Conference, in Charlottetown, Prins Edwards, Canada.
  • 1985 – 1989: SWAPO Chief Representative to France, Belgium, Luxembourg, Italy, and Switzerland with residence in Paris/France.
    • Participated in United Nations / South African / Western Five Contact Group and Front-line States negotiations which led to the signing of the ceasefire agreement between South Africa and SWAPO in 1989 and eventually, Namibia's independence.
    • SWAPO Elections Directorate Information (Media) Liaison Officer and one of its spokespersons; Member of all Political Parties Committee to draft the Code of Conduct which guided Political Parties in their election campaigns in Namibia in 1989;
    • Member of all Parties Committee of the South West Africa Broadcasting Corporation (SWABC), now the Namibia Broadcasting Cooperation (NBC).
  • 1981 – 1985: SWAPO Chief Representative to West Africa resident in Dakar, Senegal.
  • 1974 – 1980: In exile during which time he served as SWAPO broadcaster for the "Voice of Namibia" in Zambia and Congo Brazzaville.
  • 1970 – 1971:  Clerk Grade II: Department of Bantu Education and Development, (later Department of Community Affairs) at Ondangwa.
  • 1945 – 1953: Childhood and cattle herder of his family herds.




sitemap site search archive contacts contacts news and events news and events faq Services